Funding applications now open for Master’s in Genomic Medicine framework

Prospective students may now apply for funding to undertake Master’s-level CPPD modules and qualifications in genomics at partner universities

Funding applications are now open for the 2023/24 cohort of the National Genomics Education programme’s popular Master’s in Genomic Medicine framework.

Seven partner universities will deliver a continuing, co-ordinated programme of genomics education. NHS employees in England are invited to apply for funding to take up to four individual CPPD modules that start before 31 March 2024.

Limited funding is also available to extend a previously awarded qualification under the framework. This will be subject to meeting set criteria, as well as funding availability.

The funding pathways

There are two pathways available to those applying for funding.

Pathway 1

Pathway 1 is for new applicants looking to study up to four modules at their chosen university. Individuals should apply directly to their chosen university in the first instance.

Pathway 2

Pathway 2 is for those who have completed at least four modules in the framework and would like to extend their study; for example, to achieve a postgraduate diploma (eight modules) or Master’s degree (12 modules). Individuals should apply directly to their chosen university in the first instance.

Three application forms need to be completed: one by the university, one by the applicant, and one by the applicant’s line manager. The university will provide the applicant with links to the relevant forms. The National Genomics Education programme’s funding panel will review completed applications, and the funding decision will be communicated to the individual and the university.

Funding applications are assessed against two main criteria:

  1. The individual must be an NHS healthcare professional working in England.
  2. The individual’s line manager must support the application and provide details of how the qualification aligns to local or regional workforce plans, and how the knowledge gained by the individual will be utilised locally, regionally or nationally.

Partner universities

The seven participating partner universities are: Imperial College London, Queen Mary University of London, St George’s University of London (with King’s College London), University of Birmingham, University of Cambridge, University of Exeter and University of Manchester.

The universities are expected to ensure their modules are open to all potential students on a nationwide basis and are encouraged to recruit from a national pool of candidates, giving equity of access to the framework.

To find out more or apply for funding to study, please view our Master’s in Genomic Medicine webpage, or browse the list of modules.