Skip to main content
Public beta This website is in public beta – please give your feedback.


In October 2018, NHS England announced the launch of the NHS Genomic Medicine Service, providing consistent and equitable access to genomic testing for NHS patients across England. Alongside this, it announced a new infrastructure for genetic testing.

Under the new system, all NHS genetic testing in England is co-ordinated through seven Genomic Laboratory Hubs (GLHs), each delivering services to a particular region (see figure 1). The GLHs work in collaboration with the seven regional Genomic Medicine Service Alliances (GMSAs), who deliver the clinical care of patients receiving genomic testing.

Figure 1: The NHS Genomic Medicine Service regions

Lead Trusts

The GLH/GMSAs and their lead Trusts are as follows.

GLH/GMSA: Lead Trust:
Central and South GLH and GMSA Birmingham Women’s and Children’s NHS Foundation Trust
East GLH and GMSA Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
North East and Yorkshire GLH and GMSA The Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
North Thames GLH and GMSA Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children NHS Foundation Trust
North West GLH and GMSA Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust
South East GLH and GMSA Guy’s and St Thomas’ NHS Foundation Trust
South West GLH and GMSA North Bristol NHS Trust


Resources for clinicians

NHS England: Genomic Laboratory Hubs

Tagged: Whole genome sequencing

↑ Back to top
  • Last reviewed: 09/05/2022
  • Next review due: 09/05/2024
  • Authors: Dr Amy Frost, Dr Joanna Kennedy
  • Reviewers: Dr Kate Tatton-Brown